Jinx Lennon

May 2, 2007 at 9:33 pm (The Show)

Jinx Lennon

April was a bit of a repeat month for the indie hour – as in, three of the four guests on the show that month had been down to us at some point in the last three years.

Jinx Lennon first came to my attention about four years ago. I had just returned from a three year stint in London, and hadn’t a clue about anything that was going on in the irish music scene. ‘The Frames? Glen who?’ I’d ask. Well, perhaps I wasn’t quite that uninformed but anyway… the first gig I went to within a month of my return to Dublin was in the Lower Deck in Portobello. On this night I saw aidan, Niall James Holohan and Mr Jinx Lennon. It was quite a re-introduction to some of the stuff that was going on at the time, and I’ve been a fan of Jinx ever since.

What I really respect about Jinx Lennon is his absolute lack of fear when it comes to performing. Every time I’ve seen him, which has been about five times over the last three years, he completely lets go, getting rid of every Sticky Head in the audience. I always feel invigorated after a Jinx Lennon show. I think it is because of his 100% energy on stage, and his ability to throw caution to the wind and even sound like a bit of lunatic at times.

Jinx visited us on Thursday April 19th to tell us what he’s been up to for the last six months or so. Also on this show, The Lovely Mary Healy joins us for the gig guide, we heard Dark Room Notes’ Love Like Nicotine, Albyno Rhino’s debut single Wasters, Neon Neon’s Trick or Treat and Some Grand Plan from Evil Harrisons.

MP3

Jinx Lennon April 19th 2007

Subscribe to the podcast

1 Comment

  1. Captain Moonlight, away!! « The Indie Hour said,

    […] a listen here for the interview we did with Jinx back in May of last […]

Leave a Reply

