An Electric Head

September 4, 2007 at 12:07 am (Uncategorized)

picnic

Aahhhh….can’t believe it’s over already! So much fun was had. My wellies are ruined.

Highlights:

Catching LCD Soundsystem, after a six hour car journey from Dublin. In fairness, we left at 4pm – eejits. We could hear Bjork from the car in a line of traffic whilst being shouted at by irate security folks who didn’t know what the hell was going on.

Super Extra Bonus Party – Saturday morning first thing. Great crowd and great gig. Lovely visuals from our own Nialler9 as usual. Met Mr New(ish) Journalism as well after the gig with his buddies Horace and Andy (not sure if the other guy’s name was Horace actually) who did make it to the picnic. Thanks for the buckie, lads.

Jamie Liddell – probably my favourite show of the weekend. Amazing to see one guy create such a buzz, wearing a nathan barley esque bin-liner jacket and shades inside a tent. Totally forgivable because of his amazing voice.

Bonde de Role – a trio of musical chancers, but loads of fun none the less.

Final Fantasy – absolutely stunning.

Beastie Boys – the first time I’ve been up on someone’s shoulders since I was about six years old. Thanks Mike Super Extra Bonus Party for that. Great buzz. Totally unfair to all the punters who couldn’t get into the tent, it makes no sense that they weren’t on the main stage. Any explanations available for that?

Sunday was a bit messier – purely due to the fact that I forgot to eat and by the time the Go!Team came on, I was that annoying drunken fool who kept falling over everybody. Apologies to anyone whose foot I stood on. And thanks to randomer Kevin who gave me the pint of wine that sent me over the edge.

Before all that I caught half of (heh) Halves and half of Fight Like Apes. Halves were atmospherically ambient and Fight Like Apes who, as Jim said, suffered from shocking sound. They’re still great though. Love that band. We caught the Beastie Boy’s instrumental set, which I wasn’t in to too much. Still cool though. MixMasterMike was deadly earlier, and UNKLE sorted us out for a Sunday night buzz.

Lowlights:

MIA – really disappointing. And the giant backdrop with a picture of her face on it dropped hints of the egomania that may be involved in her world. Hate that shit.

Missing Go!Team – I had to be dragged back to my tent by Nialler for not drinking responsibly. Dammit, why didn’t I read the fine print on the beer advert?

Feeling like this:

aoife.jpg

Was nice to bump into Bobby Hi-Fi, Lili the photography lady, UnaRocks, The Godfather of the Bloggers, and the aforementioned Mr New(ish) over the weekend. Bloggers unite.

I’m wrecked. Back to work tomorrow. Ouch.

The mp3 with Halves from last week will be up tomorrow evening I’d say. Til then…

6 Comments

  1. John Cav said,

    Great review. I want to post mine own, but I still can’t feel my soul. If only Bucky was as hardcore as it got… Whimper 🙂

    I actually missed Final Fantasy in the end. Sigh.

    The Go! Team were incredible, as were Fujiya & Miyagi just before them. Got chatting to the lead Fujiya after the gig with Horace (real name Ronan), whilst we were in an awful state. Got deadly pictures and a set list though. Huzzah!

    I’m going back to bed.

  2. aoifemc said,

    Damn! I wish I’d seen Go!Team. Glad Fujiya & Miyagi were good, they were great in dublin a few months back. Fujiya…miyagi…fujiya…miyagi….

  3. Niall said,

    You DID see the Go! Team!

    You just don’t remember 😉

  4. aoifemc said,

    DAMN!

  5. Sarah said,

    Did you take that photo at The Beastie Boys, I have one just like it we must have been standing 5 ft from each other, mine has rain on it though…..

    Leaving at 4pm….Doh!

    Super Extra Bonus Party were fab!

  6. raptureponies said,

    im with you on the crazy traffic front…i didnt even make it for LCD 😡

    also that pic is so funny!

Leave a Reply

