Mumblin’ Deaf Ro is an absolute legend

January 25, 2008 at 8:11 pm (Uncategorized)


Mumblin’ Deaf Ro captured by Ian Oliver

Most of the time, I’m very happy with my one hour radio slot. It always flies by, but we usually manage to pack quite a lot into it. Last night was one of those nights that I wished I had more time. I could have kept talking to Mumblin’ Deaf Ro for another couple of hours. So I’m definitely getting him back on the show as soon as possible, so he can tell us more about the topics that he merely skimmed upon last night.

We spoke about his stunning album from last year The Herring And The Brine, and his debut album Senor My Friend from 2003. He told us about recording at home, about random car horns that made their way into the recordings, how he really means it when he says it’s more important to be a good person than a great artist, and about how he feels about lazy lyrics.

We played Ox in An Open Door and Brother Peter from The Herring And The Brine, and Ro played a live version of Trouble Under a Murder Moon, also from the 2007 album. We also listened to It Never Even Entered My Mind from his debut Senor My Friend. Keep an ear out for the faint sound of a distant car horn at the start of the track which happened to be perfectly in tune by a complete fluke.

I love The Herring And The Brine. I only started listening to it in late December, and it has grown and grown on me. I told Ro how much I liked the album, and how I think it’s the little imperfections, like hearing the knock of the guitar in the wrong place, and the non-pitch perfect vocals, combined with the lyrical complexity and captivating story-telling, that make it such a special piece of work. Then Ro told me to stop ranting like a slobbering fan lunatic about his album to him. Just kidding, he didn’t really. But he looked a bit embarrassed, humble mumbler that he is.

We also spoke to Mici from Maximum Joy, the fortnightly club in Kennedy’s of Westland Row, which combines live indie bands with DJ sets late into the night. Mici told us about the beginnings of the club, about wanting to make a space for people to dance and have fun, as well as about the first Maximum Joy of 2008, which is tonight. I’m heading down myself after I finish writing this post, to catch The Yeh Deadlies and The Dudley Corporation. It starts at 10pm and it’s €10 in.

I’m going to head to Traffic after that for the Kaboogie! 2nd Birfday Bash and label fundraiser, which starts at 10pm and is €13 in including a label sampler CD. Nice one. It promises to be an ace night. Just leave your gran at home, because the bass in the room may make her cry.

We started the show with Born Again from Kill City Defectors’ Mutiny Sounds album, who play Whelan’s on Sunday 27th January. We finished the show with The Dudley Corporation’s Step Out, taken from their up-coming LP.

Nialler9 recommended the amazing Ghosts from Laura Marling, my latest musical love affair. I’ve listened to the song about 18 times in the last 24 hours, I love it so. Check the girl out on myspace, and hopefully she’ll come back to Dublin to play for us when her debut album Alas I Cannot Swim is released on 4th of February.

Here it is so. I hope you enjoy the Mumblin’ Deaf Ro interview as much as I did. He’s an absolute legend. And go down to Road Records and get yourself a copy of The Herring And The Brine, asap!

MP3

Mumblin’ Deaf Ro Thursday 24th of January

Subscribe to the podcast via iTunes

6 Comments

  1. monday music 101 at David Maybury | Blog said,

    […] March at least. Wednesday night will see him alongside Mumblin’ Deaf Ro and Boa Morte. Aoife has an interview with Ro (as the Mammy calls […]

  2. Colm said,

    Good to talk to you on Saturday.

    I too am loving Mumblin Deaf Ro and Laura Marling’s albums. Such mature music from a whippersnapper.

  3. No Clarity Podcast #6: Its all about the music « Eddie Mullan’s No Clarity said,

    […] also mentioned the unmissable Mumblin Deaf Ro interview on Dublin City FMs Indiehour. This is the second episode aired on Féile FM 103.2 Belfast and if other stations are keen to […]

  4. Eddie said,

    the beautiful smelling State magazine told me to come here 😀

  5. State Magazine | Blog Standard 01 said,

    […] Creator of one of the Irish albums of 2007, Ronan Hession drops into the Dublin City FM 103.2FM studio for a chat with Aoife Mc of The Indie Hour to talk about said album The Herring and The Brine. Ro is an eloquent speaker: self-deprecating, totally engaged in craft and song-writing and likeable to boot. Listen to the interview and songs from the album in the MP3 podcast. https://indiehour.wordpress.com/2008/01/25/mumblin-deaf-ro-is-an-absolute-legend/ […]

  6. gestion flota gps said,

    Most automobile rental corporations won’t accept a money deposit…

    Typically, discounted admission charges on area attractions are the most typical and easiest to search out, since many theme parks, museums and other points of interest run specials to draw tourists….

Leave a Reply

