Captain Moonlight, away!!

February 2, 2008 at 7:50 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


The gardai who captured Captain Moonlight after the release of Dirty C*nts. Nah, not really.

It was great craic altogether having Captain Moonlight on the indie hour last Thursday. The Lovely Mary Healy is off in Boston for a few weeks and Ian Oliver was off gallavanting in Whelan’s for the Murphy’s Live show, so it was just myself and The Captain in the studio with a cuppa on a cold, January night.

We had a giggle reminiscing about Breakin’ and Breakin’ 2: The Electric Boogaloo, about MCing in Kilkenny and beyond, about that controversial song and about plans to get back into gigging now that his little son is nearly over teething.

We played through a few tracks, with only a few spatterings of swear words, from Agroculture Part 2. We listened to New Nazis, Party People, and The Plan from Captain Moonlight’s 2007 album, and we also listened to Jinx Lennon’s Fireplace-itis from Know Your Station Gouger Nation.

Captain Moonlight is supporting Jinx in The Sugar Club in Dublin this Thursday the 7th of February. If you haven’t made it to a Jinx show yet, this is your chance. As the Captain said in the interview, he’s one of the best live performers in the country. Here’s the video for StickyHead from Dundalk’s punk poet.

Have a listen here for the interview we did with Jinx back in May of last year.

Check out Captain Moonlight’s myspace for all the details of when he’ll be passing through a town near you with his brand of agro hip hop. He’ll be in Whelan’s on Saturday the 9th of February supporting Super Extra Bonus Party on the Dublin leg of their Everything Flows EP tour. I’ll be up the front for that one for sure.

After the show each week, I pop in to The Bernard Shaw on my way home for a post radio pint and to enjoy my buddies Miss Marcos and SpeakerTreatz on the decks at their weekly club Neon Love, which is on every Thursday in The Bernard Shaw and is free in. It was a busy night in The Bernard Shaw, full of lots of noisy nu-rave kids. Speakertreatz was asking me over the din who was on the show, and I said I had Captain Moonlight, a deadly MC from Kilkenny. He looked really surprised and he was like ‘Wow, that’s amazing, he must have a really interesting story, wow.’ I was a bit puzzled by his amazement, thinking he was being a bit of a Dublin-ite, being surprised that someone outside of the big smoke could make music. But then we figured out that when I said Kilkenny, he thought I said New Guinea. Oh, how we laughed.

We started last Thursday’s show with Odd Socks from Grand Pocket Orchestra’s self-titled debut EP, which was released yesterday the 1st of February on Fifa Records. Head to their myspace for details of the wide-reaching tour.

Nialler9 recommended Cassius, the forthcoming single from Foals’ album Antidotes, which will be released in late March 2008. Big congrats to nialler, who has made the longlists for Best Blog, Best Music Blog, Best Blog Post (for two posts – the infamous Go!Team one, and the Top Irish EP podcast) as well as Best Designed Blog. Check out the details of the Irish Blog Awards here, and congratulations to everyone who made it to the longlists!

Along with the mp3 of the show with Captain Moonlight, I’ve also put up Piss In Yer Trousers and God Complex from Agroculture Part 2, because I wanted to play them on the show but they were just too rude to play on the radio, even after 9pm. The only time I’ve ever had a complaint about language on the show was when Jinx Lennon sang Forgive The C*nts on the show a year or so ago. So I took that as an omen to not push it with his musical blood brother The Captain.

Get yourself a copy of Agroculture Part 1 and Part 2, they’ll make you happy.

MP3s

Captain Moonlight Thursday 31st of January

Captain Moonlight – God Complex

Captain Moonlight – Piss In Yer Trousers

6 Comments

  1. donal said,

    He was class last night in Cork. Had never seen him so didn’t know what to expect. Looking forward to hearing the show.

  2. aoifemc said,

    Nice one! I heard it was a good night all right. I’m looking forward to catching him at Whelan’s this Saturday, should be a larf.

  3. arab spring said,

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, excellent blog!

  4. Forch6Lurye said,

    Varieties of Developer Purses : Which (As well as Two or Three) is Right for You? Google.co.in

  5. the pilatesbiz said,

    I want reading and I believe this website got some genuinely useful stuff on it! .

  6. Burt Kohl's guest blog backlink said,

    Hi there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard
    work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

Leave a Reply

