It’s all gone a bit hip-hop, like

February 3, 2008 at 4:02 pm (Uncategorized)


Top to bottom: O-Zone, Special K and Turbo from Breakdance: The Movie

Since Captain Moonlight came on the show and reminded me of Breakdance: The Movie, it’s all gone a bit hip-hop.

I went to see Aesop Rock in Crawdaddy last night, which was an excellent buzz, vids of which should be up on Nialler9 later today. There’s already a bit about it on the excellent EgoEccentric music blog. Check it out.

So today, being Sunday and all, I was looking through youtube for hip-hop and breakdancing vids and came across this classic.

Have you ever seen such a shameless appropriation of a sub-culture to sell stuff? Well, have you??  I wonder where Alfonso is today…

Hope you’re all having a good Sunday.

13 Comments

  1. Eddie said,

    that’s Calton Banks!!! haha

  2. Eddie said,

    Carlton even,….

    Fresh Prince reminds me of coming home after school and that feeling of not wanting to have to bother changing out of your uniform. Them were the days.

  3. aoifemc said,

    O.M.G. You’re right, it is Carlton!! I didn’t even cop that. Thanks for the heads up on that one Eddie!
    Now this is the story all about how
    My life got flipped turned upside down
    And I’d like to take a minute just sit right there
    I’ll tell you how I became the prince of a town called bel-air….
    Love it!

  4. luncheon roll said,

    LOL bring back Fresh Prince for the tea-time slot! Remember Carlton busting his crazy moves? Will Smith’s adorable rude-boi Global Hypercolour t-shirts? Ahhhh…

    HOW WAS AESOP ROCK?? I *soooo* wanted to go but had no ticket, no money, no guesty. Am defo nipping over to Niall’s page to check those vids…

    Hope all is well witchoo =)

  5. aoifemc said,

    Fresh Prince was THE coolest TV program back in ’92, for sure!
    Aesop Rock really was cool – Aesop was deadly, his DJ was pretty cool, but his boy Rob Sonic was the coolest. They were really funny, and if I hadn’t had to run off after the show, I would have loved to bought them all beers. Lots of fun.
    Hope all’s well with you too!

  6. ctrl/alt/delete said,

    Carlton was the man
    wish i had him to teach me to breakin all i had was this guy

  7. aoifemc said,

    ctr;/alt/delete – dude, your breakin’ master looks well rubbish. Poor you. Why don’t you try ringing the number at the end of the Carlton vid, maybe they still have a few of Alfonso’s Breakin and Poppin vid in the boot of an old car in an abandoned warehouse somewhere? I’d love to see it. And have my own portable breakin’ and poppin’ mat. Radical!

  8. Fenster said,

    Seems like great value, 20 quid for the book, the rap sheet (whatever that is), the fold out mat (who culdn’t use one of those) the lp filled with choice electro cuts, what’s not to like?

  9. aoifemc said,

    Seriously Fenster. I know which giant and poorly concealed hint I’ll be dropping in time for my Valentine’s Day pressie. (In fact, that was the real reason for posting the vid in the first place)

  10. Eddie said,

    I wanna flip out my friends with eye-poppin moves. I’m havin my mom and dad order now.

  11. Matt Vinyl said,

    Moonlight is the business. On a related note, iIf you haven’t heard it already you can check out some classics from my breakdance youth on this podcast:

    http://goldenmaverick.podOmatic.com/entry/2007-09-17T15_42_40-07_00

    Sorry for the cheap plug.

    Matt

  12. aoifemc said,

    Matt Vinyl, I’m suprised at you, with that kind of shameless pluggery.
    Just buzzing, I’ll be listening to that when I get home!
    Oh and Eddie, we all want to flip out our friends with eye-poppin moves.

  13. buy beats said,

    why do i remember that. Now that was hip hop!

Leave a Reply

