Super Extra Bonus Shock

February 28, 2008 at 1:36 pm (The Show) (, )

I am delighted about the result of last night’s Choice Music Prize. If you’ve visited this blog before, you probably know that I am a Super Extra Bonus Party fan. I’m wearing their T-shirt right now.

I did not expect them to win last night – not because I don’t love their album or think it wasn’t deserving of the prize. But, like Nialler, I really didn’t think that 12 people would all agree on it being the Irish album of the year, as I thought its eclectism would be too polarizing.

There is a lot of debate this morning about the shock of SEBP winning. I was sure Adrian Crowley was going to walk away with it, and I would have been very happy if he had done so.

Personal feelings aside, the reason I think it’s so wonderful that SEBP won last night is that I feel it shows there is room in Ireland to do something different with music, to push the boundaries and to dance like a total loon while you do it.

Have a look at Sinead’s blog for her take on the night, head over to UnaRocks who gives an insight into the judges’ side of things, and over at nialler9 there’s a brilliant video of the acceptance speech.

Huge congratulations to the lads, commiserations to all the other acts nominated who put on a great show, well done to all the judges, and fair play to Jim Carroll and Dave Reid for putting the whole shebang together.

12 Comments

  1. Leigh O'Gorman said,

    delighted for the lads, but surprised at some of the animosity towards afterwards

  2. aoifemc said,

    Yup I’m delighted too. I’m not suprised about people being upset. Everyone was so sure it was between Cathy Davey and Adrian Crowley, both of which really deserved to win it, and I think the shock just threw people.
    I was reading on Sinead Gleeson’s blog that someone thought the lads winning cheapens the whole competition. That is just ridiculous. And really insulting.
    I’m really happy for the lads, I think they deserved it, not any more than Adrian Crowley or Roisin Murphy, but they deserved it just as much. And it was up to the judges at the end of the day to decide. Not us!

  3. Leigh O'Gorman said,

    you go sock it to ’em eef… proper rambo styyyyle like!!

  4. Sinéad said,

    I think the comments about cheapening the prize are unfair to both the prize and the winner – it’s too extreme.

    I didn’t agree with the result but fair play to the guys, I hope they enjoy it. And heck, everyone loves an upset, don’t they?

    Hope you had a great night Aoife, pity we only met in the jacks!

  5. aoifemc said,

    Hey Sinead
    That’s exactly how I felt about the cheapening comments Sinead, unfair to everyone involved.
    I had a great night, got very carried away with all the excitement, was very late for work this morning🙂
    Looking forward to having a more sober chat with you on Saturday at the other awards!

  6. Eddie said,

    yes yes yes. Really well deserved and a refreshing result for Irish music😀

  7. Sinéad said,

    Aoife, sounds good. Let me know if you’re going to the tea party thingy.

  8. aoifemc said,

    Eddie – righteous!

    Sinead – I will see you at the tea party!🙂

  9. bottler said,

    I have several opinions!!!! SEVERAL!! but dancing and wife-beaters and air-guitar and kitchens surpass them. a wise man once said, “everybody here is handicapped…”

  10. aoifemc said,

    Bottler – ahhh, if only I hadn’t passed out too early at the electric picnic. Then I too would have witnessed THE lost vagueness incident.. Such a fun night on Wednesday – thanks to you and Amanda for getting up and dancing with me for SEBP’s tracks!

  11. Ciaran said,

    Wasnt it Just great.

    Im Still Elated over it,

    Pity i didnt see you or Byrno down in Tommytown, was a great Night.

    See you soon

    C

    Fuck prizes, Lets Rave ( Sums it all up )

  12. aoifemc said,

    Hey Ciaran
    After Niall winning Best Music Blog over the weekend, I’m completely exhausted. So much excitement is good for the soul!!
    We had to take a break on Friday night, sorry to miss EBGBs too!
    See you soon no doubt🙂

Leave a Reply

