1,2,3,4…9!

March 2, 2008 at 3:33 pm (The Show) ()


nialler9 picks up his 2nd Best Irish Music Blog Award.

Last night was a lot of fun. My head hurts.

It was great to meet so many lovely people – starting off at the lovely Ladies’ Tea Party beforehand. Big thanks again to Ina, Sabrina and Martha who sorted us all out. We had a lovely meal and it was a great start to the night.

Lovely to see some familiar faces – Una, Sinead, John Cav (secretly my favourite blogger), Darragh and Loreana, Cillian, Lili, the Analogue team and of course, Damien.

So brilliant to meet bloggers I love to read but have never met before – Little Bird Eats (I love, love, love your blog. Please can I move into your house so you can cook cinnamon buns for me everyday?), Eddie from NoClarity, Andy, Phil, Ken McGuire, Sweary (who was very polite), the hilarious Sabrina Dent (congrats on your award, hope Eimear didn’t miss you guys too much), and Annie Rhiannon.

Twenty Major is really nice. I told him I thought it was weird that he is an asshole on the internet and then his acceptance speeches are so sweet. Best of luck to him for his book, I hope it’s a big success.

Last night was good for expanding my blog reading list by meeting people and hearing about their blogs, like the absolutely brilliant Humble Housewife (who is a big Phish fan), Grannymar, RedMum, and Liam from Irish KC.

And then there were the ones that got away – Rapture Ponies, where were you??? I’m so sad I didn’t get to meet you! David Maybury, sorry I didn’t get to meet you and show you the February issue of Mongrel which was in my bag. OneForTheRoad, I would have liked to have a drink and talk about Slate. OffHerRocker, I missed you! Thought you were coming? And where the hell was Matt Vinyl?

Big congratulations to all the winners, all the nominees, all the sponsors, Rick O’Shea and Damien. A special shout out to nialler9 for winning the Best Irish Music Blog. Thanks for giving me your DVD player. Makes the podcasts worth it.

Finally, a huge thank you to Fustar. Thanks to him I won an amazing plastic gun.

my-awesome-gun.jpg
I would like to thank my mum, Nialler9 and the lady who gave me the raffle ticket. It made my night!

Looking forward to another year of blogging. See you all at most probably a bigger venue next year!

24 Comments

  1. nialler9 - Music/Mp3 Blog » Blog Archive » Best Week Ever said,

    […] category and who I FORGOT TO THANK for being the voice of the nialler9 Podcast. Gah! Soz love but at least your gun is tres cool! Also Johnny from DownloadMusic.ie for sponsoring the award I must echo last night’s […]

  2. Sinéad said,

    Lovely to see you too Aoife, great pic too. I loved the way Rick announced Niall’s win.

    And I am SOOO jealous that you won a manky toy. I missed that whole raffle.😦

  3. aoifemc said,

    I actually didn’t understand why Rick was counting until he was at about number 6, but I’m quite slow. Delighted for Niall, he deserves it.

    I have to say my gun is really cool.

    Congratulations to you on your hat trick!

  4. [ Irish KC ] » Kansas City Irish Festivals, Music, Pubs, & Events by an Artist in Ireland » Review: Irish Blog Awards 2008 said,

    […] Best Week Ever    •By Flirty: Blog Awards – Results    •By Aoife: 1,2,3,4…9!    •By Grannymar: Wow What ANight    •By Grandad: Grandad […]

  5. David said,

    Sorry I missed ya Aoife – I was only a row behind Nialler so we couldn’t have been any closer! (What’s this sad news lark??)

  6. Jess said,

    Great to see the happy baby gun has found a good home. Fústar and I spent Thursday evening kitsching it up with glitter glue and stickers. In the mania of organising the awards, Damien forgot to give out your accompanying ‘Certificate of (In)authenticity’ with the manky toy. Send on your address and I’ll get Fústar to post it to you.

  7. aoifemc said,

    David – oh no! That means you were right behind me! The sad news is that February is the last issue of Mongrel. Ever!

    Jess – I absolutely love the happy baby gun. Some of the glittery bits fell off in my bag but the yellow 2 and most of the other glittery stuff survived. It will be a treasured possession. Thank you!

  8. luncheon roll said,

    Awwww!!!
    I am thrilled that Nialler won🙂 What a SEBWeek!

    My daughter disappeared off the face of the Earth and it was horrendous. She went to the shop at 4pm and never came home. We had droves of people driving cars and knocking on doors around East Wall til 9pm. Turned out she met a friend and told the parents I knew where she was.

    I was really upset, couldn’t even get mad cos I was just glad she was safe. The getting-ready champagne went flat😦
    I ended up having a mad, miserable night talking shite in Whelans. Wish they’d showed the Awards on telly…

  9. aoifemc said,

    Oh Luncheon, poor you! That must have been awful. So glad to hear that she’s safe. Scary shit.
    Boo to Whelan’s. Delighted for nialler!

  10. luncheon roll said,

    Ah I’m just annoyed I didn’t get to meet anyone…sit, chat, drink, mingle, talk about all the deadly blogs and meet new faces…
    but got plastered drunk and could imagine pitching up to the Alexander and dancing on tables and convincing Twenty and Mulley to join me on a flight to Beirut to smuggle illegal saffron into Syria.
    The only reason I went to Whelans was cos I thought Chequerboard was playing. WRONG. Meh.

    Next year? I’ll chain the children in a closet 24 hours in advance.

  11. luncheon roll said,

    PS…your gun! I’d use one to get one!

  12. Jen said,

    No problem – I’ve always got a big stash of cinnamon in the cupboard and a lifetime’s worth of cinnamon-stuffed recipes to try🙂 Was fab to meet you last night too🙂

  13. Bren said,

    Lovely seeing you too Aoife! Twas a cool night all in all…

  14. fustar said,

    Aoife,

    Delighted you like your gun-ishment. As Jess was saying, I have a natty certificate for you. Send me your details and I’ll pop it in the post.

    This is what it looks like:

  15. aoifemc said,

    Hey Fustar
    I sent on my address to Jess, so excited about the gun, really I love it! Would love to have a natty certificate.
    Thank you again!!

  16. Holly said,

    i am sooooo excited for him. i really wanted to go. i must congratulate him by every possible electronic means!!!!

  17. Deborah said,

    So good to meet you Aoife! It was great craic indeed, you and Nial are great! And don’t be telling people about my phisy little secrets!😉

  18. aoifemc said,

    Hey Holly – it’s been some week all right!

    Deborah – sorry to blow your Phish secret, so I suppose it’s ok if I tell everyone about the Grateful Dead tour? Or was that Sabrina? Actually, on Sunday Niall used your blog to find a delicious recipe for breakfast, so we will definitely be going back for more!🙂

  19. John Cav said,

    Aww shucks Aoife, thanks a mill for the kind words… I’m blushing. In the internet cafe near work. Which is a bit of a social faux pas really. As is my rushing to work grossly mismatched socks combo. But what of it… I think you’re super swell too🙂

    Had a great night too. Nothing beats a good back slapping buzz. Huzzahs all round!

    Yours commently,

    Birthday Buddy.

  20. aoifemc said,

    No probs John Cav. Sorry for making you blush in an internet cafe😦
    That’s right, I forgot that we have the same birthday! There’s so much that I learned at the blog awards that is slowly but surely coming back to me…!
    Great night – say hi to horace for me x

  21. Matt Vinyl said,

    Shit, I thought they were on this weekend.

  22. Linkaufbau.es Erfahrungen said,

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  23. gratis videos musica said,

    Loving the info on this internet website , you might have done fantastic job on the posts .

  24. Mitch Ragins said,

    Hi, I’m sure your blog may be having visitor compatibility concerns. When I review your blog site within Safari, it looks fine but once opening with Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just desired to give you a fast heads up! Other then that will, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

