Five things to do(do) this weekend

June 13, 2008 at 4:28 pm (The Show) ()

indie hour, unarocks, raptureponies, offherrocker and sigla celebrate bloomsday

I’d like to throw my two cents in and recommend a few things for you to check out this weekend. I’m going to try to make at least four out of five of these events myself. I believe it can be done. I do.

The fun starts tonight in Crawdaddy with The Dodos taking the stage at 9.45pm. The last time I checked, the support hadn’t been announced but I expect there will be something happening between 8pm and 9.45pm. It’s €14 in at the door and I have high expectations for a percussion-tastic evening. I like their album Visiter a lot.

Tomorrow brings an early start with The Sensual Walk, which is loosely celebrating Bloomsday but also has some kind of connection to Kate Bush. I’m just not sure what the connection is. Nevertheless, the information for this free day of walking and music is up on the Kate Bush News website. The plan is to meet at Howth Head at 2pm and have a walk around, retracing the steps of Molly and Leopold Bloom. Then it’s on to The Bailey Pub in Howth Village at 4pm for food, pints and music brought to you by Mumblin’ Deaf Ro, Carol Keogh and her band, Thomas Dunning & Your Boyfriends, and flippin’ loads more.

It’s the next stop that might have to be forsaken – it’s Fleet Foxes in Whelan’s. As Jim pointed out on a comment thread on his blog earlier in the week though, it would be possible to head down to Fleet Foxes and still make it for Dan Deacon in Vicar Street at the Future Days Festival. Fleet Foxes will finish up early enough because of the Saturday night club thing in Whelan’s – but you would run the risk of missing Jape and Deerhunter who are playing alongside Dan Deacon on Vicar Street? I think I’ll just head straight from Howth to Vicar Street, making a stop at Gruel on the way.

And finally – it’s on to McGruders on Thomas Street after Dan Deacon has increased your heart rate through the sheer joy of dancing to get stuck into Kid 606 and a host of others at RedRum #4.

And then, it’s home to bed.

Whatever you get up to, hope you have a good one.

The podcasts from the last three weeks of the indie hour will be up by the end of the weekend, including last night’s show with the lovely Ann Scott.

5 Comments

  1. gabbagabbahey said,

    er, hope this doesn’t throw off your finely tuned calculations, but at the Future Days gig last night (which was excellent, btw) all the posters up had Jape ahead of Dan Deacon on the bill. As in, top.

    Is that just a bit of wacky over-promotion (I like Jape and all, but c’mon…) or does Deacon want to get an early night?

  2. aoifemc said,

    Hey – yeah, my mistake. Jape’s playing after Dan Deacon. But Dan Deacon is only starting at 11pm….so it’s still possible! Optimism is key.

  3. raptureponies said,

    I love hats🙂

  4. Nay said,

    I love how I’m the renegade oddball in flamboyant attire🙂

  5. aoifemc said,

    Glad you like your hat Rapture!

    Nay – that was completely unconscious! Makes sense though… just kidding…:)

Leave a Reply

