Saturdays with a crystal cat

June 15, 2008 at 7:34 pm (The Show) (, , )

Jape is great.  I mean grape.

Today is recovery day after a full on day yesterday, making it to three out of four gigs in a number of venues around Dublin.

The Kate Bush/Bloomsday do in Howth was lovely, involving pints of Guinness, fish and chips, and Mumblin’ Deaf Ro. Also heard Carol Keogh and Ewa Gigon, the latter being joined by the girl from Thinguma*jigsaw and her saw. Ro finished his set with Bright Eyes from Watership Down and had the whole room singing at the top of our rabbit loving lungs. Pretty hilarious.

Headed back into the city and walked into Vicar Street just as Dan Deacon started his set with Crystal Cat. It was great to have him back. I think that’s the last time we’ll see him play in his one man and an iPod format, so it was a performance to be relished. It was so much fun. Of course. Hugged UnaRocks and Thrill Pier in the giant circle of high fives, and got hugs from Darragh and Loreana too. It was a hugging kind of atmosphere you see. Dan Deacon for president. Of the world.

Jape did amazingly well to follow Dan, because we were all wrecked! He played a great set and kept the energy buzz going.

To my delight, I met someone who also went to Fleet Foxes in Whelans and made it down for Dan Deacon. He was called Dezzy and he said Fleet Foxes were great. I also bumped in to Dezzy at McGruders for RedRum #4, so between the two of us we made it to all four of Saturday’s recommended gigs. Kid 606 was great, and afterwards I drunkenly gave him a hug thanking him for introducing me to live electronic music five years ago when I saw him in London. He was very polite but after the third hug from me, he made his excuses and moved on. *cringe*

After chatting to Ste from EgoEccentric and his love of Anticon, it seemed it was finally time to go home, where a few bottles of wine were opened and Alopecia played on til the morning light.

I am in bits today. I did a headstand in the kitchen last night and hurt my elbow on the way down.

Such fun.

12 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    Ah yes, they hugs …

    The highlight of my buffoonery was I think probably singing Game Of Pricks by Guided By Voices down Dame St. at someone I’d just met.

  2. gardenhead said,

    Keeping it real there Aoife!! I was boring, I didn’t even run around in the circle. Instead I watched all the other more limber kids do it. I know, I’m lame. Sorry.

  3. UnaRocks said,

    hisies! My legs are so sore.

  4. gabbagabbahey said,

    I guess a lot of people will be saying this, but I regret not going (especially since I hear there were tickets galore left?). I also regret ever doubting that a man of such talent and energy as Dan Deacon would fail to get a ‘giant whirlpool of people’ going in Vicar St or whatever it was… very sorry!

  5. Karl said,

    The Kate Bush part of the Kate Bush thing was a bit weird. Thinguma*jigsaw were great though. Missed all the later stuff to rush in for High Places.

  6. aoifemc said,

    Ian, your hugs were appreciated!

    Gardenhead, you’re all right. The circle was fun though.

    Una – I have discovered three more bruises, not sure if I got them at Dan or at a later point in the night. Ouch!

    Gabba – in the words of a man almost as great as Dan, you gotta have faith. He was deadly!

    Karl – I got in just as Carol Keogh was starting, I was late and had been distracted by the fish and chips of howth. Was a good day out though!

  7. niamhoh said,

    high places were truly amazing i skipped out before dan deacon for a twenty first but i saw him back in november he’s a sensation live

  8. aoifemc said,

    Hey Niamhoh – missed High Places and Deerhunter! Saw Deerhunter at Primavera a few weeks back and was a bit perplexed. Third time seeing Dan and he was a sensation yet again!!

  9. gabbagabbahey said,

    ‘He’s a sensation/Oh-Oh-Oh’ (to the tune of the Ramones song of almost the same name). At least I have my white vinyl LP of Spiderman to play with.

  10. I was a Flower of the mountain yes « Those Geese Were Stupefied said,

    […] Ro) in Howth is basically the ideal Saturday afternoon to me. There was something weird though. Aoife Mc flagged it, but I missed it. Psycho Kate Bush fan event. Not that there’s anything wrong with […]

  11. proxy site said,

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this article was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already😉 Many thanks!

  12. Camilla said,

    Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always helpful to read articles from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

Leave a Reply

