Sorry….

July 1, 2008 at 5:45 pm (The Show) (, , , , )

A little mouse apologising to the blogging community on behalf of the indie hour. Sorry.

My blogging has been erratic of late. I’m sorry. Here are four excuses:

1. My day job is teaching tefl. As you may have noticed, Ireland is currently overrun by hordes of chattering Spanish kids. I’m teaching them. They take so much energy my fingers are too pooped to type at the end of the day😦

2. I don’t have access to the internet at work.

3. My flat is an internet black spot and I have to use the USB modem thingy. It’s quite slow at the best of times, but at the moment it’s not working at all. Bum deal.

4. I went on my first hen weekend last weekend and it took a lot of preparation (L plates, condom-and-willie-covered-veils, the Penis Pokey book, etc) and is now taking a lot of recovery.

I’ve now got a back log of mp3s and I’m sorry about that.

The first mp3 is The Indie Hour Crash Course #2, when we were joined by a pretty incredible bunch of Irish songwriters. I met Jinx Lennon, Captain Moonlight, Mumblin’ Deaf Ro and Carly Sings in Dublin’s Central Hotel before I went away to Barcelona for Primavera. We had a wonderful chat about songwriting, with a focus on lyrics and how each of their different approaches to lyrics in their own music.

I was really excited about this show because I love all four of those artists, and I thought it was a unique opportunity to get all of them together. I was, however, slightly unhappy with the end result, as there was an unexpected amount of background noise which left me with no choice but to edit quite a lot of the good stuff that was said out of the piece.

The songs in it are great though. We played a track from each artist and they all recommended one as well. I think the programme worked well, but I don’t think I executed the idea as well as I could have done. Let me know what you think anyway.

So….really sorry that this is nearly a whole month late. The following mp3 was originally broadcast on Thursday the 5th of June. I hope you enjoy it.

MP3

The Indie Hour Crash Course #2: Lyrics

Subscribe to the podcast via iTunes

11 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    Ro always has interesting things to say whenever he’s on. More of that sort of thing.

  2. Nay said,

    Aww hey, I hear ya, I remember meeting you with your gaggle of backpackers that day! Can only imagine how irksome its been getting the stuffs together but not to worry, is here now. A deadly-sounding one, too🙂

    Anyway your pics are so cute, you’re totally loike, furgived, *nods*

  3. John Cav said,

    Welcome back! I know all about the pain of moody internet connections when one needs a good blogging session. Sucks bottom so it does.

    I’m heading on my first stag do next week. Apparently we have to dress up as a pirate or a viking. Which would be cooler? I’m genuinely conflicted.

    Great show by the way🙂

  4. Nay said,

    John – PIRATE!😀

  5. Ian said,

    I agree with nay, yaarrrr to pirates.

  6. John Cav said,

    Thanks guys. You have saved me from looking quite ridiculous on a night out😀

  7. aoifemc said,

    Hey you three – shows how much I know, I would have said Viking!!

    And John – our similarities continue. I’m a blogger, you’re a blogger, same birthday, first hen/stag weekend within a week of each other, the incident with the glasgow diamonds… Stop creeping me out new(ish). Lolz.

  8. Off Her Rocker » Blog Archive » News : 4 July said,

    […] McIndieHour has a great new podcast over on her blog, instalment #2 of her new Crash Course series features a discussion on songwriting from Carly Sings, Captain Moonlight, Mumblin’ Deaf Ro […]

  9. aidan said,

    Back, and with a cute animal photo. All is right with the world again😀

  10. Eddie said,

    glad to hear you Aoife.. I was on my first stag do this weekend too, would you believe. Must be the time of year.

  11. aoifemc said,

    Aidan – that animal pic was especially for you!

    Eddie – I guess a lot of people get married in the late summer so June/July are prime hen/stag season. Hope yours was fun too.

Leave a Reply

