Heathers – what’s your damage

August 12, 2008 at 5:10 pm (The Show)

On the last Thursday before I took my little break, I was chuffed to be joined by Ellie and Louise of Heathers. They are absolutely my favourite new Irish artists and their album Here, Not There is in my top five favourite albums released so far this year by Irish and international artists.

I listen to it on the way to work, on the way to gigs, on the bus on the way down the country, in my flat with my flatmates, and on my radio show too. And so, I was delighted that the girls could pop in to visit us just a day after they returned from their 30 day US tour with Ghost Mice.

I’m not going to start raving about how great I think Heathers are – I think it would be in everyone’s best interest if you just downloaded the mp3 instead. We played loads of tracks from Here, Not There and the girls also treated us to a live version of Remember When and Hush Hush.

Heathers are playing this Thursday 14th August in The Project Arts Centre in Temple Bar to kick off their Irish tour. It’s an all ages gig which means you can bring your little brothers and sisters. It’s only 6 euro on the door, and for that price you’ll also see Crayonsmith as support. The doors are at 8pm, tickets are available on the door but you can buy them through the Project Arts booking office before the event. I’ve already popped in to buy my ticket. Just in case everyone in Dublin likes Heathers as much as me.

We started this show with Stingray from Terrordactyl, followed shortly by You Me a new track from Adebisi Shank’s forthcoming debut album. Both bands played down at Mantua in Roscommon last weekend to rapturous applause and an occasional bout of stage crashing. Nialler9 recommended I Heard Wonders from David Holmes’ upcoming fourth album The Holy Picture, to be released on 8th of September. The single I Heard Wonders will be released on 1st September, and it’s all right actually. It sounds a lot like Pulp but it’s all right. The album might be quite interesting…

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the following mp3.

MP3

Heathers Thursday 31st July

Subscribe to the podcast via the gobsmackingly powerful might of iTunes. Hurrah!

10 Comments

  1. aidan said,

    I’ve just listened to the Heathers tunes on their MySpace – jaysus! I like them a lot! Good songs and plenty of attitude. I must try to see them in Dingle next Monday night. (I’m back in sunny Eire for two weeks.)

    I also picked up the Carly Sings album after seeing your post about her, and I like her too. So, thanks for the two good tips! If ever you need to find some bad French indie rock, just ask😀

  2. donal said,

    Looking forward to listening to this one. Can barely keep up with all your podcasts these days!

  3. nialler9 - Music/Mp3 Blog » Blog Archive » Heathers & Crayonsmith all ages gig tonight said,

    […] at 8.30pm. The band were a recent guest on Aoife’s excellent Indie Hour radio programme. Listen to the podcast which has loads of Heathers songs and two live tunes. Wahooo, say wha […]

  4. aoifemc said,

    Hey Aidan – welcome home! Delighted that you like Heathers and Carly Sings. Definitely try and catch the girls in Dingle, I went to their album launch and they were just great. Really looking forward to tonight!

    Donal – sorry about that!! There was a bit of a back log all right! Hope you had fun at indiependence, I saw some of the pics on your blog, looks like it was a good weekend.

  5. thelavatorialreview said,

    I am the flatmate! and the heathers gig was AMAZING! thanks so much eefs. p.s. do you happen to know why they are called ‘heathers’ is it after the badass winona ryder film?

  6. aoifemc said,

    Yo Lav Chav – twas great all right. I never asked them about the name ecause I’m a silly goose. I assume it’s after the film which also featured Christian Slater back when he was a hottie.

  7. TheComicCast said,

    That Heathers poster is awesome.

  8. guild wars 2 cd key said,

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great site!

  9. pickel hilfe said,

    I am typically to running a blog and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

  10. Miguel Grinkley said,

    Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and internet and this is actually irritating. A good website with exciting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this site, I’ll be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

Leave a Reply

