The Indie Hours…erm…

September 11, 2008 at 12:53 pm (The Show)

I can haz journo?

Shit. Just realised my indie Hour is temporarily plural. Never mind.

Last Thursday was a ball, when The Indie Hour returned from a quiet August to a two hour slot on our beloved Dublin City 103.2 FM.

Below is the mp3 (especially big this week – 106MB) featuring Brian from Halves, Una Rocks, nialler9, Johnnie Craig, Fenster and One Day International, and squillions of great tunes squashed in between.

We started off with Kiss With a Fist from Florence and The Machine whose set I thoroughly enjoyed at The Electric Picnic – keep an ear out for an as yet released (or recorded) debut album. We followed that be fellow Picnicer Jape with Phil Lynott from Ritual and Laura Marling’s Ghosts taken from her debut Alas I Cannot Swim. From the Picnic line-up, Una played Crystle Castles’ Lovers Who Uncover and Niall chose the fuppin’ deadly Two Steps, Twice from Foals who truly lived up to expectations at Stradbally. Absolutely class.

I asked my four journo/bloggers to bring down some upcoming Irish releases they were excited about. For Una it was Fight Like Apes’ Lumpy Dough taken from their much deliberated-over debut Fight Like Apes & The Mystery of The Golden Medallion, which will be released with a show in Whelans on 26th of September. The Apes are also playing at HWCH this weekend on the Saturday night in Meeting House Square. Deadly.

Johnnie’s choice was The Blizzards with the title track from their second album (You Can’t Stop) The Domino Effect. The Domino Effect will be released tomorrow, Friday the 12th of September.

Niall went with Halfset’s Work from the album Another Way of Being There, which will be released on October 3rd with a show in The Sugar Club on the 27th of September. Fenster went with Mo-T and a track called I Haven’t Looked Back Since which is an untypically electro track from the Coolock MC.

After we bid adieu to the journos, we were joined in studio by One Day International to talk us through til 11pm. Matt, Danny and Eimear told us about the recording of their debut Blackbird, which will be released on 3rd of October with a show in Whelan’s. From the album, we listened to Sleeping on Trains, Black Is The Bird and Closed Doors. One Day International will be playing at The Button Factory on Sunday night at 8.45pm as part of the HWCH festival.

Right click on the link below if you’d like to download it or simply listen to it through the blog. But you know that already. Hope you enjoy!

MP3

Thursday 4th September Journalists, Halves and One Day International

Subscribe to the podcast via iTunes

9 Comments

  1. nialler9 - Music/Mp3 Blog » Blog Archive » Bloggers, Journalists and Remixers on The Indie Hour said,

    […] has just uploaded last week’s two hour Indie Hour special which features appearances from Unarocks, myself, Johnnie Craig, Fenster of Connected […]

  2. raptureponies said,

    Fancy blogger fun!

  3. Ciarán Gaynor said,

    Hey there,

    This is completely unconnected to the post above, but I bumped into you in the street with my friends yesterday and while they were chatting with you I was thinking “I know this girl from somewhere”. And now I remember where from! About five years ago we worked together in Concern in Dundrum, do you remember that? I remember you were fond of Phantom FM. Anyway, hope you’re keeping well, I’ve enjoyed what I’ve heard of the Indie Hour, your David Turpin interview encouraged me to interview him for Analogue.

    Regards, Ciarán🙂

  4. aoifemc said,

    Hi Ciaran
    You looked really familiar to me too!! Sorry I didn’t introduce myself. Next time we meet we’ll have a recap on the Concern days. My prevailing memories of the place are the dry cleaning hoover thing to clean the clothes and the constant feeling of being hungover on a Saturday while surrounded by old stuff. Deadly.
    Glad you enjoyed the David Turpin interview, he’s great.
    See you soon I hope – perhaps over the weekend at HWCH?🙂

  5. Ciarán Gaynor said,

    The steamer – the dry cleaning hoover thing you mention – was brilliant and I want one. I don’t think I’m going to make HWCH at the weekend, I’ve managed to get roped into helping my friend redecorate his house. But yes will talk to you again soon hopefully.😉

  6. nialler9 - Music/Mp3 Blog » Blog Archive » One Day International said,

    […] Day International appeared on the show last year and were there again last week as they are releasing their debut album Blackbird which is released on the 3rd of October. The band […]

  7. proxy list said,

    Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site. Regards,

  8. wedding photographer philadelphia pa said,

    Would you be considering exchanging links?

  9. gestion de vehiculos software said,

    The first thing you have to to know is…

    After getting a good idea of what you want to spend on each part of your journey, then it is advisable start buying round for the perfect deals….

Leave a Reply

